One of the greatest intellects in the Western world

admin
Administrator

One of the greatest intellects in the Western world

Post by admin » 04 Dec 2022, 14:27

This was a photograph of someone beset with foreboding.Matt had managed to come up with his phone number and left it to me to contact him and ask if he might come to Mundelein for some lectures.I studied his picture carefully as a way to prepare myself for the call.As excited as I was about this possibility, I couldn’t dial his number.Our apartment was on the third floor with a pantry off the kitchen in the back, which became my office.I would resolve to call him, would even get to my desk and pull the phone over in front of me.Then I would decide I needed a better opening.Maybe I should start off with a confession of how deeply moved I was by his article The New Cosmic Story. Or maybe I should I tell him something about my own work?Maybe the best approach would be to just jump into our request that he speak to our grad students?My difficulty came from the way in which his words had penetrated so deeply into me.I had trouble believing a human being living a normal life in New York City had written them.My unconscious assumption was that such words could come only from the deepest stratum.Maybe something similar happened to people who knew Moses or Mohammed.There was an even more frightening possibility.What if the opposite proved to be the case?What if he ended up regarding my phone call as an irritating waste of time?What if the only sentiment he sent through the telephone wires was a desire that our phone call end?My destiny would be squashed out of existence as quickly as it had emerged.The possibility that I was actually on the phone with him unnerved me.I asked if I was speaking with Thomas Berry.When he said yes, I asked him how I should address him.I don’t know why I didn’t just say that.But as he was a monk in the Passionist contemplative community within the Roman Catholic Church, perhaps there wa